Skip to content

Natural Nibbles: Homemade Ravioli–Slow Food Nightmare or Success?

November 13, 2009

ravioli

One of the best dishes I have ever had was pumpkin ravioli from Cucina di Pesce, in New York City’s East Village. The pasta was the perfect thickness. It was elastic without being rubbery and ideally sized to wrap around the medallion of harvest-fresh pumpkin filling, whose abundance made it as hearty as cheese ravioli. The sauce was good, I think; something that traditionally complements pumpkin ravioli, like a light cream-based sauce. I actually don’t quite remember what it was, but it was only because my teeth, tongue, and mind chewed the ravioli together, focusing on its texture and the bright, sweet flavor of its pumpkin innards. The pretty cream (at least I’m quite sure it was a cream sauce) was a bit like the bride and groom on top of a wedding cake: necessary decoration with an undeniable contextual presence, but ultimately not part of the food party on my plate.

Two weekends ago, my residential college held its annual Harvest Festival, replete with delicious fall foods: apple cider, chai tea, pumpkin pie, apple pie, kettle corn, and caramel apples. My heart raced at the sight of twenty or thirty pumpkins in the dining hall, my mouth started watering, and my mind wandered back to that plate of pumpkin ravioli, that moment of tasty bliss I enjoyed at a dinner with seven of my closest friends. And that’s when I knew. I could have that ravioli again. I could recreate it, and invite my friends over for dinner, and have the best deja vu ever. I planned the ingredients for the filling. I scoured the internet for tips on how to make the best ravioli shells. After a brief shopping trip, I was ready. How did it go? Read more after the jump!

I turned my “spunky” Pandora station up on high, pulled the recipe up for pasta dough on my computer, and set to work. I grabbed a sheet pan, since my college kitchen is a little want for table space, and dumped my measured mound of flour onto it. Then, as advised by several sources and videos that claimed the authentic way to make pasta dough was to make a volcano out of the pasta mound and crack the eggs right into the center of it, beat the eggs with extra virgin olive oil and salt, and then slowly incorporate the sides of the flour mound into it, I did precisely that. But unlike the chef whose nice, slow, expert gestures of swirling the eggy center caught and incorporated pockets of flour into the liquid mixture at a gradual pace, I grew impatient. And when you’re not an expert at something, or even when you are an expert at a recipe, impatience is your enemy. It leads to rash decisions. After I had swirled about half the flour into it, I thought that I could just start incorporating larger amounts of it faster, and I accidentally broke one side of the volcano of flour so that the thick, liquid egg and flour mixture began to flow out of the broken dam. Welcome to Franken-pasta disaster number one.

Covered in flecks of flour and a good deal of amateur chef’s despair, I almost gave up. But, I had friends who I promised I would feed, and a stupid sense of resolve that tends to take over whenever I’m faced with a difficult situation. And so I attempted to sweet-talk my gestating pasta-mound, “No, stop that, come back! Please? Okay, I’ll rebuild the flour wall, as long as you just stop running…okay, that’s not working, how about I just throw all of the flour into the center and mix you together, that ok?” Of course, talking to it resulted in nothing more than a verbalization of plan B. I threw it all in, and began to think of it as just any other dough. Once I managed to gather it into a ball, my kneader’s intuition kicked in, and I stretched and rolled it like nobody’s business. I set it aside and let it rest before I attempted to conquer the next big step.

It’s no secret that rolling out ravioli dough is part talent, part Italian grandmother’s expertise. Most chefs and home cooks today who make pasta use a handy dandy pasta maker or cranker. You crank the dough through a press, adjust the lever of the contraption to a thinner setting, and pass it through again and again, until it’s thin enough that you can almost see through it.

Yep. thin enough that you can almost see through it, because once it hits the boiling water, it’ll thicken. Unarmed with a pasta making machine, unschooled in the art of making pasta, and completely untalented in bicep department, I was the unarmed greenhorn, too stubborn to give in to making ravioli with wonton wrappers because I had neither the right equipment nor any experience at all.

And so, I did the only thing I could. I borrowed a rolling pin, sucked in my breath, spread some flour out onto the table and exhaled. Then, the rolling pin, driven by the brute force of my puny arms, met with the dough. I rolled and rolled; the pin rotated endlessly like tires on a cross-country drive. I felt like I’d finished a workout and a half by the time the dough was thin enough. But it was worth it. Labor and effort really are evident in good food. At least, that’s what my friends said when they scarfed down the ravioli. I thought they tasted pretty good for a first try as well.

 

Pumpkin Ravioli with Browned Butter Ginger Sauce (Serves 4-6)

 

Pasta Dough

3 cups of flour

3 large eggs

½ tsp. salt

1 tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil

 

Pumpkin Filling

1 ¼ cups of roasted pumpkin puree (or 1 15 oz. can of pumpkin puree)

½ teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon nutmeg

1 tablespoon chopped ginger

½ tablespoon chopped garlic

¼ cup grated parmesan cheese

¼ cup ricotta cheese

1 egg

 

Browned Butter Ginger Sauce

1 tbsp. sliced ginger

4 tbsp. butter

 

  1. Mix flour and salt together. Make a well in the center of the pasta and crack the eggs into the center. This is pasta, old school.
  2. Beat the eggs in the center and gradually fold in the flour with your hands.
  3. When the dough starts to come together, knead it for approx 8-12 minutes until it forms smooth ball. Let it rest for 30 minutes to an hour.
  4. While the dough is resting, combine the ingredients for the pumpkin filling together in a bowl.
  5. Pasta maker (or rolling pin time). Roll out the dough, preferably into a large rectangle until it is thin enough that you can see your fingers through it. Lightly flour it as you’re rolling it out to keep it from sticking.
  6. Beat the egg to make an egg wash that will help the pasta stick to itself.
  7. Take a teaspoon and lay down the filling on one half of the pasta sheet in an array. Brush the egg wash in the spaces on that half of the pasta and fold the top over. Push the dough down between the pumpkin hills to ensure that the pasta is sticking.
  8. Take a pizza cutter or a cup or ravioli cutter and cut the ravioli into squares (or other shapes).
  9. Bring a pot of water to a boil. Add the ravioli about 7-10 at a time. Fresh pasta should only take about 3-4 minutes to cook. Set aside finished ravioli in a strainer.
  10. Brown the butter in a saucepan and add the sliced ginger. When the ginger browns, turn the heat off and coat the ravioli in the browned butter. Serve.


3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2009 7:58 pm

    This looks SOOOOO amazing! I agree that making homemade ravioli is a LOT of work, but yours looks super gorgeous and delicious. :)

  2. February 16, 2010 11:57 pm

    Your ravioli looks tasty! One of the best idea I have seen for homemade ravioli is imushroom and goat cheese stuffed ravioli with pistachio pesto and thee link is described at http://desigrub.com/2010/02/eat-delicious-food-day/

  3. October 12, 2010 8:47 am

    Email me next time… and throw out the rolling pin with the pin inside. It’s not what you need for rolling out pasta.
    You get an A for effort though!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

