Skip to content

Better Know a Farm Manager: Aixsha Hiciano, BR ’12

March 4, 2010

We’ve reached the end of our farm manager series! Signing us off is Aixsha, our newest farm manager. She’s farmed everywhere from Manhattan to Italy, and is working on bringing chickens to the Yale Farm in collaboration with our Student Volunteer Coalition.

On an editorial note, our spring break starts next week. We’ll be posting from home on signs of spring we see around us all during break — from the first asparagus of the season to the last snowfall! And without further ado, Aixsha on why she is just like a Daikon radish:

Aixsha Hiciano/ Branford/ 2012/ Philosophy and Political Science

What made you want to be a farm manager?
I guess I figured I spent a bunch of time there anyway, so why not do it? And I just wanted in on knowing more about everything happening there and maybe getting some projects going that could make it even more awesome. It’s just such a lovely place.

What’s your favorite vegetable?
Daikons. By a landslide. Seriously. In all forms.

What’s your favorite dish to cook?
Hm, maybe a beet gnocchi. It’s the only way I can eat beets. They’re freaky.

What fruit or veggie best typifies you?
I think I’m going to have to stick with Daikons on this one. Kind of random, and having the quality of being exactly what you expected and yet slightly unanticipated at the same time. Or an avocado. But I don’t really know why.

Describe a fun/hard/exceptional story from working at the Farm.
I’m still pretty new so I’m still finding everything is really fun and exciting. But I will tell you I’m quite excited and sure I’m going to have lots of fun working on this chicken coop project and working on the seedlings up at Marsh. I’m pretty pumped. It’s going to be absurdly wonderful. That didn’t really answer the question. Sorry.

What’s your favorite food cause? Why?
I’m a really big fan of this project my friend is working on for her senior project out in California. They’re working on bringing organic food to this minimum security women’s prison and helping them start a garden out there as well. A lot of women there were put down as accomplices in crimes like drugs and things like that because they didn’t want to give up their loved ones, and she’s trying to study how food culture (the change from the odd stuff they serve in prisons to like fresh food and things) is going to change the atmosphere of the place. I think that’s pretty swell.

I’m also a fan of the back to the roots stuff happening everywhere. I saw a bunch of that stuff happening the last time I was in Vermont and all over Italy. It just always makes me really happy.

Tell us about other work you’ve done in the world of food and farming.
Well, I spent a lot of time in this random community garden we have in Manhattan. Volunteer work and stuff like that. I spent the last summer WWOOFing in West Africa and Italy with my friend Ali. That was way sweet. Other than that, workshops on sustainability and growing and miscellaneous growing here and there of all sorts of greenage. I live in an apartment so I have sort of commandeered my aunt’s garden for some experimental planting that won’t grow in my window. Oh and my family in the Dominican Republic has a whole bunch of stuff growing in their houses, so when I visit, I infiltrate that whole scene too. Yeah, I think that’s the bulk of it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

